How Do You Get Into the Hall of Fame?

Talent, mainly. Inside the meetings, the debates and the secret ballots of a passionate and rigorous process. … After the Rock Hall was established in 1983, a nominating committee was formed that included the likes of Ertegun, producer Phil Spector, Rolling Stone editor and publisher Jann S. Wenner, rock critic Dave Marsh and Sire Records founder Seymour Stein. Today, the committee has grown to 35 members – an evolving mix of musicians, industry figures and journalists. [See page 82 of the November 26, 2009 issue 1092 print edition of the Rolling Stone for complete article.]